Embracing December!

Week 1

I wanted to start this weeks edition of ‘The Carfisher’ off with a shout out to Yum Cars!

Yum Cars - Cars & Coffee Event

I first discovered Yum Cars back in September 2021 when I agreed to buy an absolutely stunning Mercedes AMG GT S from an incredibly nice guy called Nick Briton! (photo’d below)

Back then I visited his HQ at Millenium Business Park in Mansfield, and gosh, how he has grown since then, what an incredible journey he’s been on. They are now based at a bigger HQ in Dinnington, Sheffield!

Me on the right buying this stunning AMG GT S with Nick on the left!

I always love hearing about the customers I meet and finding out about their lives. Listening to Nick tell me about his business back then so passionately earned himself an avid follower and i’ve watched his journey to this point.

Yum Cars was created with a clear vision in mind, and that was to chase the highest possible quality car care products and accessories and share them with you! So far, he’s doing an amazing job. As well as their own bespoke range, they also work with selected suppliers such as Mosmatic, Kranzle, Pressol, Detail Factory and Braun Automotive.

They have a great social media presence too. On Instagram they have circa 18k followers - @yumcars_official and on Facebook they have circa 17k followers YumCars. They also have an incredible community of hardcore followers on Facebook - YumCars Community. Go and check them out!

The EV market and TESLA in particular

If you follow me on LinkedIn, then you will have seen me talk about the EV market quite a bit over the last couple of years. 18 months ago we couldn’t buy enough Tesla cars, the demand was greater than the supply. This lead to high margins, quick turnaround of stock and minimal preparation costs. That was a great period for us, and then ‘wham’ the energy crisis hit, with energy prices soaring, the demand for EV’s dropped off a cliff. Our sublime run had come to an end, and thought never to return…….until recently.

I posted a poll on LinkedIn after reading that demand for electric vehicles had risen 69.1% in November. The poll read “With the demand for electric vehicles up 69.1% in November is now the time to invest in EV stock heading into 2024?” The poll received 20 votes, with a 70%/30% split against buying EV’s, so 14 against and 6 for. After some consideration and more research we went for it, and not half hearted either!

We bought a 2022 registered Tesla Model Y. And guess what? It’s sold! Healthy margin, finance commission, no prep costs, and surprising for some, a quick turnaround! Now i’m not saying we’re fishing in the big ponds specifically for EV’s, but this is definitely the result we were on the hunt for that has made dipping our toe in the water a little easier!

What are your thoughts on the EV market currently? I’d love to hear it. Just reply to this email and let me know.

I’m starting a used car dealership of my own - with the help of AI

James Baggot of Car Dealer Magazine is running a little docu-series on Youtube and i watched my first episode last week. I really think it will be a great watch. With all the media focus around AI currently, i think it will be interesting to see how AI could help used car dealerships, if at all. I must add, he’s taken on a big challenge seeing as he’s never ran his own used car dealership before and is using the help of AI that is still all relatively new! Episode two is out this week so i would definately give it a watch.

Ending on a light note

Who’s ready for Christmas? Have you bought everything already in anticipation? Have you got your decorations up?

My wife attempting to put the lights up!

Here is me ‘helping’ my wife put our lights up. The helping came quite a while after the photo’s and the laughing, but you get the idea!

Send me your photo’s and i’ll feature them next week!

If you found this a decent read, please share with your network. The main aim of the newsletter is to educate customers on how they can get the best price for their car, and the pitfalls to avoid. There will be industry news along the way but you will see big things in 2024.

Until next week!